Askern 10 2011

Askern 10 2011

350 runners gathered for the Askern 10, incorporating The South Yorkshire Open 10 Mile Championship and The Yorkshire 10 Mile Championship. The rolling course on quite country lanes was ideal for quick times, though the heat made for many a weary runner by the end of the day.

The Men’s race saw Matthew Pierson (Holmfirth) and Ian Fisher (Otley AC), two of Yorkshire’s best distance runners and regular rivals in recent years take the start line, along side Hallamshire’s Dave Archer. These three quickly took a lead on the rest of the field, with Pierson pushing on alone as they passed though Campsall after 1.5 miles. Fisher led Archer though a few seconds a drift, with the rest 15 seconds behind.

In the Ladies race Margaret Beever (Stainland Lions), winner of the previous weeks Idle Trail Race could be seen at the front, along with teammate Julie Field and Denby Dale Travellers duo, Lesley Leggett and Nicola Sykes.

By the time the runners hit 6 miles, Pierson had put nearly a minute into his two rivals. Archer had been running side by side with Fisher for a few miles, but started to pull away on the decent back into Campsall and despite the fact he could see Pierson ahead on the long straights couldn’t close the gap.

Pierson finished in 52:28, with Archer pulling well clear of a fading Fisher in the closing miles to take second in 53:51. Fisher held on to third and first Vet in 54:55, a very creditable performance after a lengthy absence from the sport (this was his first Open race for a year).

The Ladies race saw Beever pass though 6 miles with a 40 second advantage over Leggett, with Field in third a further 15 seconds down. However Leggett was full of running in the closing miles and overhauled Beever in the closing stages to take the honours in 67:34, a mere 13 seconds in front of Beever, with Stainland’s Lucy Thompson coming though for third in the closing miles.

ResultsYouTube Video