Brass Monkey Half Marathon 2012

Sunday saw Knavesmire Harriers hold their annual Brass Monkey Half Marathon. Celebrating its 30th anniversary, the race was a sell out within hours of entries going live.

Yared Hagus (Wallsend Harriers & AC) was the run away winner in the Men’s race finishing in 66 mins 42 secs. A time all the more remarkable given the strong winds runner had to endure (only 80 seconds outside the course record). Best of the rest was 2010 winner Matthew Pierson who led Holmfirth Harriers teammates Richard Smith (5th) and David Turnbull (6th) to the team honours. Paul Lockwood, the only other runner to follow the Holmfirth trio in the early miles was third, with Martin Sanders (Rothwell & District Harriers) passed Smith and Turnbull on the run in for 4th. The crowds favourite Darren Bilton took the first Vet award in 8th.

In the Ladies race Felicity Milton (Woodford Green with Essex Ladies) was an even more impressive winner, finishing with over 5 minutes in hand over her rivals. Vicky Hindson (Wallsend Harriers & AC) took second, with Melissa Neal (March AC) third and first Vet.

YouTube Video

Recent Updates

 7 Mar 2021     Richard

Trafford 10K

Read More
 31 Jan 2021     Richard

Meltham 10K 2010

Read More