Eric Biddulph Memorial Road Race 2010

The Eric Biddulph Memorial Road Race for 3/4 riders promoted by Huddersfield Star Wheelers took place on Sunday. 54 riders lined up on the start line for the 53km event & as per usual the weather had been unkind with extremely strong winds but thankfully no rain. The riders observed a minute’s silence for Lewis Barry (Aire Valley Cycles) who died last week aged just 15. Our thoughts are with his parents Mark & Carol at this difficult time.

The race was eventful to say the least, the race had to be stopped on the first lap as a JCB blocked the course just as Craig Gath (York Cycleworks) broke clear of the main bunch. After a minute or so the race was on again, there were further incidents which made life challenging for the commissionaires & marshals as the bunch encountered horses & also a running race that was using some of the same roads as the race.

Ben Page (VS Cycles) was on the attack early on & took the first prime with 5 laps to go but a lone break was never going to make any headway with the strong winds keeping the speeds down to 10mph on the long drag up to the finish line. With 4 laps to go Karl Denton (Yorkshire Velo) & Karl Downes (Star Bikes) broke clear & worked well together to get a gap of 30 secs. The 2 Karl’s never looked like being caught, it was a great effort especially from Denton as he had raced the previous day. On the last lap 5 riders jumped clear of the what was left of the bunch but never looked likely to catch the leaders.

Denton & Downes continued to share the work until about 50 yards from the line when Downes kicked for the line but it was Denton who came out on top & claimed victory & the Eric Biddulph Memorial Trophy presented at the HQ by Eric’s widow Mary. Robert Blackburn (JE James) completed the podium places, winning the sprint from the 2nd group.

1. Karl Denton (Yorkshire Velo)
2. Karl Downes (Star Bikes)
3. Robert Blackburn (J E James)
4. David Furness (Doncaster Wheelers)
5. Craig Gath York (Cycleworks)
6. Ben Page (VS Cycles)
7. Giles Dumont (Moonglu RT)
8. Sean Smith (Halifax Imperial Wheelers)
9. Mike Clark (Wheel Guru)
10. Tony Grassby (Peak RC)
11. Alex Wallis (Sportscover)
12. Richard Siddle (Wakefield CC)
13. Oliver Pearce (
14. Jaime Hyde (Macclesfield Wheelers)
15. Dan Shoreman (Yorkshire Velo)

Report by Ivan Boyes, Huddersfield Star Wheelers