Eric Biddulph Road Race 2011

Eric Biddulph Road Race 2011

Mark Buckingham (Huddersfield Star Wheelers) flew in from Munich to take the Eric Biddulph Memorial Road Race on Sunday, held in hot sunny conditions, making a pleasant change from the strong winds that are a usual feature of the race.

“Fresh” from his win the previous day in the Speedman Triathlon (a race that takes place completely inside the Munich Olympic Stadium) and only arriving in Manchester at 8am, after a 4am wake up call.

Buckingham stamped his authority on the race in the opening laps, going clear on his own briefly with 5 laps to go, before being joined by Chris Fothergill (Sowerby Bros CRT) and Michael Knight Team (Chevin Bang Olufsen) – the only two riders to ever get near him once the racing started.

The three rode well together, each taking their turn at setting a high pace that saw them increase their lead to over 90 seconds at one point.

Jack Clarkson (Pedalsport) could be seen pushing the pace on in the main peloton in pursuit of Nathan Harrison (Yorkshire Velo) and Phil Holwell ( who had gone clear in an attempt to catch the leading trio.

As the lead car came into sight, Buckingham launched his sprint with 300 to go, pulling clear of Fothergill to take the win, with Knight taking third and first Junior. Harrison and Holwell stayed clear to take forth and fifth respectively, with the remainder of the field rolling across the line in small groups.


1 Mark Buckingham (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
2 Chris Fothergill (Sowerby Bros CRT)
3 Michael Knight (Team Chevin Bang Olufsen)
4 Nathan Harrison (Yorkshire Velo)
5 Phil Holwell (
6 Thomas Timothy (Velo 29 CT)
7 Peter Barusevicis (Pennine Cycles)
8 Ewan Sewell (York Cycleworks)
9 Alex Mitchell (Sheffrec CC)
10 Stephen Swales (Team Active/CP Cycles RT)
11 Matthew Street (Dirtwheels)
12 Karl Downes (Star Bikes RT)
13 Nicholas Jepson (Beeston CC)
14 ? Pennine Cycles
15 Jason Livesey Aire Valley RT
16 Andrew Robinson Dinnington RC
17 Kevin Stuart Leeds Mercury
18 Matthew Eastwood York Cycleworks
19 Peter Fielding-Smith Richardsons RT Cube
20 Gary Trees Wilsons Wheels
21 Christopher Scott Clay Cross RT
22 Jack Clarkson Pedalsport
23 Paul Smith Huddersfield Star Wheelers
24 ? Sheffrec CC
25 John Wright Wakefield CC
26 Daniel Webb Team CF