Yorkshire & Humberside Cross Country Championships 2011

The 2011 Yorkshire & Humberside Cross Country Championships were held at Doncaster Racing College. A relatively flat and fast grassland course, with a few hills into a strong head wind, thrown in for good measure.

In the Under 13 races (Yorkshire), City of York produced both race winners, and took the Boys team title for good measure. Kingston-upon-Hull provided the race winner and first team the Humberside Championship. In the Under 13 Girls team event, Wakefield Harriers took the honours, despite Hallamshire Harriers having second and third places overall. Beverley AC dominated the Humberside Championships.

In the Under 15 Girls race, Wakefield Harriers once again took the team honours, with Scarborough’s Bronwen Owen a run a way individual winner.
Halifax AC had a great Under 15 Boys race with first team and the overall race winner in Max Wharton, who got the better of Elliott Stones (Humberside Champion) in the closing stages.

Fiona Bell (Hallamshire Harriers) was the Under 17 Women’s Yorkshire Champion, with Jessica Lonsdale (Kingston Upon Hull) the Humberside Champion, Bell also led her club to the team title. Gordon Benson (Leeds City) ran out the winner in the Yorkshire Under 17 Boys race, James Lamswood (Kingston Upon Hull) took the Humberside title and Richmond & Zetland were the Yorkshire team winners.

In the Junior Men’s race, Leeds City took a 1-2 with Michael Wood and Daniel Davis, and backed by Sam Bucknall also took the team title.

In the Senior Ladies race Becky Plenty (City of York) and Susan Partridge (Leeds City) hit the front early on, with Julie Briscoe (Wakefield) close behind. Partridge looked the strongest from the start and moved clear of Plenty, holding a comfortable lead all the way to the finish, adding an individual gold medal to the silver she won last year. Leeds City took the team honours from Bingley Harriers, with Hallamshire Harriers third.

The senior men’s race was a tale of the two Jonathan’s. Jonathan Brownlee (Bingley) and Jonathan Twewlis (Notts) ran shoulder to shoulder for the early laps, after Andrew Pearson (Longwood) had set the early pace. In the closing stages Brownlee pulled clear for a comfortable win, with Thewlis remaining a clear second and Philip Hoole (Rotherham) moving though the field to repeat his third place of 2010.

Eric Biddulph Memorial Road Race 2010

The Eric Biddulph Memorial Road Race for 3/4 riders promoted by Huddersfield Star Wheelers took place on Sunday. 54 riders lined up on the start line for the 53km event & as per usual the weather had been unkind with extremely strong winds but thankfully no rain. The riders observed a minute’s silence for Lewis Barry (Aire Valley Cycles) who died last week aged just 15. Our thoughts are with his parents Mark & Carol at this difficult time.

The race was eventful to say the least, the race had to be stopped on the first lap as a JCB blocked the course just as Craig Gath (York Cycleworks) broke clear of the main bunch. After a minute or so the race was on again, there were further incidents which made life challenging for the commissionaires & marshals as the bunch encountered horses & also a running race that was using some of the same roads as the race.

Ben Page (VS Cycles) was on the attack early on & took the first prime with 5 laps to go but a lone break was never going to make any headway with the strong winds keeping the speeds down to 10mph on the long drag up to the finish line. With 4 laps to go Karl Denton (Yorkshire Velo) & Karl Downes (Star Bikes) broke clear & worked well together to get a gap of 30 secs. The 2 Karl’s never looked like being caught, it was a great effort especially from Denton as he had raced the previous day. On the last lap 5 riders jumped clear of the what was left of the bunch but never looked likely to catch the leaders.

Denton & Downes continued to share the work until about 50 yards from the line when Downes kicked for the line but it was Denton who came out on top & claimed victory & the Eric Biddulph Memorial Trophy presented at the HQ by Eric’s widow Mary. Robert Blackburn (JE James) completed the podium places, winning the sprint from the 2nd group.

1. Karl Denton (Yorkshire Velo)
2. Karl Downes (Star Bikes)
3. Robert Blackburn (J E James)
4. David Furness (Doncaster Wheelers)
5. Craig Gath York (Cycleworks)
6. Ben Page (VS Cycles)
7. Giles Dumont (Moonglu RT)
8. Sean Smith (Halifax Imperial Wheelers)
9. Mike Clark (Wheel Guru)
10. Tony Grassby (Peak RC)
11. Alex Wallis (Sportscover)
12. Richard Siddle (Wakefield CC)
13. Oliver Pearce (Boneshakersbikes.com)
14. Jaime Hyde (Macclesfield Wheelers)
15. Dan Shoreman (Yorkshire Velo)

Report by Ivan Boyes, Huddersfield Star Wheelers

Paul Milnes Cycles Summer Cross Series 2010 – Round 3

Colne Valley High School hosted Round 3 of the Paul Milnes Cycles Summer Cross Series in glorious evening sunshine. Race organiser Andy Whitworth turned the flat school playing fields into his usual technical maze.

In the Under 14’s race there was a bumper turn out, with over 30 youngsters taking the start. With a wide range of ages and abilities, it’s clear the various Go Ride schemes in the area are paying off.
Chris Barnes (Seacroft Wheelers) made the best start, quickly opening up a led, with only Amira Mellor (Holme Valley Wheelers) able to stay with him as they left the start field. Not one to sit back for long, Amira quickly hit the front and never looked back, second place was never in danger for Barnes, with Lewis Byram (better known for his running exploits) taking third.

Oliver Webster (Crosstrax) set the pace on the first lap of the senior race, holding a slim led over the chasing pack until Ian Taylor (Craven Energy Tri) hit the front, quickly establishing a good lead. Taylor still led at the bell, but Mark Thwaites (My Team Giordana/Opera) was closing in rapidly, passing Talyor to finish with a 20 seconds winning margin.

Nikola Butler (Pedalsport CC) and Rachael Mellor had a close battle throughout the women’s race, Mellor led early on before Butler managed to pull away in the closing laps.

White Rose Youth League 2010

The White Rose Youth League continues to grow in popularity year on year. With riders taking part in a one-lap time trial, followed by a circuit race. With points awarded in each discipline counting towards the overall series and yellow jerseys. This is one fast and hard fort event, with riders showing excellent bike handling skills and reaching speeds that would scare many a senior rider.

Brian Robinson Challenge 2010

200 cyclists took to the hills around Huddersfield for the annual Brian Robinson Challenge. With two tough climbs in the first 20 miles, this is a challenging route for even the most hardened racing cyclists. The great man himself was also on hand to welcome the riders home.
YouTube Video – Part 1Part 2Part 3

Recent Events

Honley Remembers Peace Day
 21 Jul 2019     Richard

Honley Remembers

Read More
Brian Robinson Challenge Ride 2019
 12 May 2019     Richard

Brian Robinson Challenge 2019

Read More