Joe Percy 10K 2011

Wednesday saw clubs gather for the annual, a team race where clubs count their first 10 finishers. Holmfirth’s Matthew Pierson showed signs of returning to form with a comfortable win on the undulating course, ALthough well outside his best on the course set when he led Holmfirth to the team honours in 2007. Margaret Sykes made it an individual double for Holmfirth by finishing first lady (the fifth year in a row Holmfirth have won the ladies honours).

But the main interest as ever was in the team honours, after Holmfirth had won the title four years in a row between 2001 and 2004, could Halifax Harriers could equal them this year with a win. Sam Kerfootroberts and Ben Crowther (2010 race winner) certainly got them off to a great start with second and third. Holmfirth failed to back up Pierson and so finished outside the top three.

In the end, once again Halifax showed great strength in depth to take their 4th team title in as many years (and also turned out nearly 60 runners) and gave themselves a great chance to equal two records next year. If they win again in 2012 they will join Longwood Harriers in winning the trophy 5 years running and will stand alongside Holmfirth Harriers who currently hold the record for the most wins, with 7). Stainland put in a great performance to finish second (their first top 3 position), with Stadium Runners repeating their third place of 2010.

Recent Updates

 7 Mar 2021     Richard

Trafford 10K

Read More
 31 Jan 2021     Richard

Meltham 10K 2010

Read More