Trafford 10K 2012

Sunday’s Trafford 10K once again saw a large field take the start on a lovely spring morning. As ever race organiser Dave Norman had gathered a number of elite runners to take advantage of the fast course.

A group of 6 quickly opened up a lead and went though the first mile (which is slightly uphill) in an impressive 4:28, clearly showing they meant business. In the women’s race Elle Baker (Stockport Harriers) was well placed amongst the men, with Kate Avery (third in 2011) close behind.

In the end it was Antony Ford (Sale Harriers Manchester) who ran out the winner in 29:04, but he was pushed all the way by Joe MacDonald (Cardiff AAC) who finished 4 seconds adrift. Alex Hains (Cardiff AAC) took third in 29:34. The fast early pace also ensured another four athletes dipped under the 30 min barrier (the most since the race moved to its current course), including Andy Norman of the hosts Altrincham & District AC. David Lockett (Salford Harriers) took the first Vet prize in 32:49.

In the Ladies race Elle Baker (Stockport Harriers) broke the course record set last year by 40 seconds. Kate Avery (Shildon AC) knocked 40 seconds off her time of last year to take second, with 2012 Brass Monkey Half Marathon winner Felicity Milton (Woodford Green & Essex Ladies) third in 34:29. Caroline Betmead (Blackpool Wyre and Fylde AC) was the Vets winner.

Recent Updates

 7 Mar 2021     Richard

Trafford 10K

Read More
 31 Jan 2021     Richard

Meltham 10K 2010

Read More